Minestrone. Gnam!Gnam!

Here in Europe the cold weather and early darkness is advancing slowly and therefore the food becomes more comforting and warmer.
Personally I think nothing can beat a warm bowl of minestrone ,brings memory of mummy’s kitchen. She manages to make it with a that particular perfume that just belongs to her way to cook it and when she comes to visit me from Milan my kids, husband and I always ask her to cook her signature dish.
People think just because I am Italian I love cooking. Truth been told I found it utterly boring and tedious.
I can cook , and actually I am quite good at it , but when it is day in and day out you can run out of ideas and good will . I love easy cooking ,one pot does it for me, even more minestrone is one of my favourite to prepare. Full of goodness and healthy ingredients.
Minestrone is a thick soup of Italian origin made with vegetables, often with the addition of pasta or rice. Common ingredients include beans, onions, celery, carrots, stock, and tomatoes.
There is no set recipe for minestrone, since it is usually made out of whatever vegetables are in season. It can be vegetarian, contain meat, or contain a meat-based broth (such as chicken stock).
I personally chuck in any veggie from the fridge or cupboard and job done.
Being married to an Australian would be like a sin not to cook with any sort of meat therefore I always end up threw bacon in the minestrone, to be fair taste pretty good.
I have to ways to make it.
The first one I called the lazy way, in a pot fry gently the chopped bacon chopped celery,carrots,onion and garlic. After add the stock and chuck in any veggies you like or left in the fridge or add beans from the cupboard.
By the way I love lots of fresh basil and olive oil as well . Just cook it on the stove for 30 minutes low/medium temperature.
The labour way is to fry up all your veggies and add them in the home made stock, potatoes go in last.
Sometime I add some pesto to give a bit of different flavour.
As you can see it isn’t difficult to make it .
So let start cooking and happy days!
I quite don’t mind Jamie Oliver
Deliaonline, food network.IMG_1764

Ciao

Ilenia

Leave a Reply

